



2020 Great Lakes Commission Annual Meeting

ONLINE MEETING - REMOTE ACCESS AVAILABLE TO REGISTERED ATTENDEES ONLY

FINAL AGENDA - November 13, 2020

Tuesday, November 17 All times are Eastern			
2:00 p.m.	Call to Order and Roll Call	Sharon Jackson, Chair Commissioners	
2:10 p.m.	Opening Remarks	Sharon Jackson, Chair	
2:20 p.m.	Business of the Great Lakes Commission Review and Approval of Agenda Approval of Minutes 2020 Semiannual Business Meeting May 19, 2020 Observer Request from Great Lakes-St. Lawrence Legislative Caucus Presentation of Resolutions and Action Items Resolution: Advancing Prevention and Control of Invasive Asian Carp Action items: Sunset expiring resolutions Ad hoc committee on mercury contamination	Sharon Jackson, Chair	
2:40 p.m.	Interim Executive Director Report Commission Program/Project Updates	Erika Jensen, Interim Executive Director	
3:10 p.m.	 Commissioner Roundtable COVID-19 impacts, challenges and outlook Delegation priorities and emerging issues 	Commissioners	
4:30 p.m.	Adjourn for the day	Sharon Jackson, Chair	
4:45 – 6:00 p.m.	Commissioner Networking / "Virtual Hallway"	Commissioners	

Wednesday, November 18 All times are Eastern			
9:30 a.m.	Call to order	Sharon Jackson, Chair	
9:35 a.m.	Regional Collaboration: Effective Partnerships to Protect and Enhance Great Lakes Basin Resources	Moderator: Todd Ambs, Vice Chair, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Speakers: Mike Ripley, Chippewa Ottawa Resource Authority Bob Lambe, Great Lakes Fishery Commission Laura Rubin, Healing Our Waters-Great Lakes Coalition Steve Fisher, American Great Lakes Ports Association Rep. Robyn Gabel (IL), Great Lakes-St. Lawrence Legislative Caucus Jon Altenberg, Great Lakes-St. Lawrence Cities Initiative Olivia Ortega, Greater Cleveland Partnership, Great Lakes Metro Chambers Coalition	
11:10 a.m.	Questions and Discussion	Commissioners and Speakers	
11:30 a.m.	Canada Water Agency	Michael Goffin, Director General Water Policy, Environment and Climate Change Canada	
12:00 p.m.	Adjourn morning session	Sharon Jackson, Chair	
1:30 p.m.	Reconvene	Sharon Jackson, Chair	
1:35 p.m.	Innovation Spotlight: Hoola One Technologies	Anne-Sophie Lapointe, Hoola One Technologies	
1:45 p.m.	IU Environmental Resilience Institute	Janet McCabe, Indiana University	
2:30 p.m.	Climate Resilience and Stormwater Infrastructure: Emerging Models for Large-scale Investments	Moderator: Sanjiv K. Sinha, Senior Vice President, Environmental Consulting & Technology, Inc. (ECT) Speakers: Kevin Shafer, Executive Director, Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District, Milwaukee, Wisconsin Oluwole (OJ) McFoy, General Manager, Buffalo Sewer Authority, Buffalo, New York Kyle Vander Linden, Program Manager, Credit Valley Conservation, Mississauga, Ontario Bill Schleizer, CEO, Delta Institute, Chicago, Illinois	
3:30 p.m.	Questions and Discussion	Commissioners and Speakers	
3:45 p.m.	Adjourn for the day	Sharon Jackson, Chair	
4:00 – 5:00 p.m.	Commissioner Networking / "Virtual Hallway"	Commissioners	

Thursday, November 19 All times are Eastern			
9:30 a.m.	Call to order	Sharon Jackson, Chair	
9:35 a.m.	Canada's Climate Resiliency Efforts	Patricia Fuller, Canada's Ambassador for Climate Change	
10:00 a.m.	Climate Resilience Committee Report	Katrina Kessler, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency Heather Pearson, Ontario Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks	
10:20 a.m.	Climate Resilience Panel Discussion	Moderator: Bruno Pigott, Indiana Department of Environmental Management	
		Speakers: Rob Sisson, U.S. Commissioner, International Joint Commission Heather Stirratt, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Dave Bucaro, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Chris Korleski, U.S. EPA-Great Lakes National Program Office (Invited) Lisa Duriancik, USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service Dr. Ralph Grundel, U.S. Geological Survey Brad Potter, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service	
11:45 a.m.	Questions and Discussion	Commissioners and Speakers	
12:00 p.m.	Adjourn morning session	Sharon Jackson, Chair	
1:30 p.m.	Reconvene	Sharon Jackson, Chair	
1:35 p.m.	Observer Comments	GLC Observers	
2:30 p.m.	Ohio DNR Conservation Teen Advisory Council	Gabrielle Dennis, Grade 12, Ohio Virtual Academy Lily Schwartz, Grade 12, St. Ursula Academy Madeline Shumaker, Grade 12, Pettisville Local Schools	
2:45 p.m.	Business of the Great Lakes Commission Resolution and Action Items Resolution: Advancing Prevention and Control of Invasive Asian Carp Action items: Sunset expiring resolutions Ad hoc committee on mercury contamination	Sharon Jackson, Chair	
3:00 p.m.	Nominating Committee Report • Election of Officers	Tim Bruno, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection	
3:15 p.m.	Invitation to Great Lakes Day and 2021 Semiannual Meeting	Erika Jensen, Interim Executive Director	
3:20 p.m.	Closing Remarks and Adjournment	Sharon Jackson, Chair	