



2021 Great Lakes Commission Semiannual Meeting

ONLINE MEETING - REMOTE ACCESS TO BE ANNOUNCED

FINAL AGENDA – May 10, 2021

Tuesday, May 11 All times are Eastern				
9:30 a.m.	Call to Order and Roll Call	Sharon Jackson Great Lakes Commission Chair, Deputy General Counsel, Office of the Governor of Indiana Commissioners		
9:40 a.m.	Opening Remarks and Report of the Chair	Sharon Jackson, Chair		
9:55 a.m.	Business of the Great Lakes Commission Review and Approval of Agenda Approval of Minutes 2020 Annual Meeting – November 17-19, 2020 Observer Request from Audubon Great Lakes Presentation of Action Items Report of Resolutions Review Committee	Sharon Jackson, Chair Brenda Sandberg, Pennsylvania Commissioner, Executive Director, Erie-Western Pennsylvania Port Authority		
10:25 a.m.	Interim Executive Director Report • GLC Program/Project Updates	Erika Jensen, Interim Executive Director		
10:40 a.m.	Health Break			
10:50 a.m.	Keynote Remarks	Michael S. Regan, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency		
11:00 a.m.	Great Lakes Restoration Initiative Update	Chris Korleski, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Great Lakes National Program Office		
11:25 a.m.	Great Lakes Advisory Board (GLAB) Update	Steve Galarneau, GLAB Co-Chair, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources		
11:50 a.m.	Adjourn morning session	Sharon Jackson, Chair		
1:50 p.m.	Reconvene	Sharon Jackson, Chair		
1:55 p.m.	Keynote Remarks	Martha Williams, Principal Deputy Director, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service		

2:10 p.m.	U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Update: Soo Locks, Brandon Road, and Coastal Resiliency	Moderator: Kay Nelson, Director, Environmental Affairs, Northwest Indiana Forum Speakers: Mollie Mahoney, Project Manager, Detroit District Andrew Leichty, Project Manager, Rock Island District David F. Bucaro, Chief, Project Management Section, Chicago District
3:00 p.m.	Québec's Maritime Strategy	Ministre Chantal Rouleau, Ministère des Transports
3:30 p.m.	Health Break	
3:40 p.m.	Great Lakes-St. Lawrence River Maritime Transportation Panel Discussion: Modernization, Sustainability and Resiliency	Moderator: David Naftzger, Executive Director, Great Lakes-St. Lawrence Governors and Premiers Panelists: David Martin, Owner, CSL Group BJ Murray, Section Chief, Aviation & Marine Transportation Program Planning, Illinois Department of Transportation Tom Rayburn, Vice President, Lake Carriers' Association
5:00 p.m.	Adjourn for the day	
5:15 p.m.	Commissioner Networking	

Wednesday, May 12 All times are Eastern				
9:30 a.m.	Call to Order	Sharon Jackson, Chair		
9:35 a.m.	Keynote Remarks	Terry Cosby, Acting Chief, USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service		
10:00 a.m.	U.S. Legislative Updates: Climate and Infrastructure	Navis Bermudez, Senior Professional Staff, House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure (Majority)		
10:20 a.m.	Health Break			
10:30 a.m.	Water Infrastructure Investment + Community Input = Positive Impact	Crystal Davis, Vice President of Policy and Strategic Engagement, Alliance for the Great Lakes		
10:45 a.m.	Water Quality and Infrastructure Panel Discussion: Equity, Access and Affordability	Moderator: Crystal Davis Panelists: Brenda Coley, Milwaukee Water Commons Shadi Eskaf, UNC Environmental Finance Center Jim McGoff, Indiana Finance Authority Jerry Rouch, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency Paul Vojtek, Erie Water Works		
12:05 p.m.	Observer Comments (1)	GLC Observers		
12:30 p.m.	Adjourn morning session	Sharon Jackson, Chair		
2:00 p.m.	Reconvene	Sharon Jackson, Chair		
2:05 p.m.	Observer Comments (2)			

2:30 p.m.	The Importance and Integration of TEK in Great Lakes Issues: A GLIFWC Approach	Melonee Montano, Traditional Ecological Knowledge (TEK) Outreach Specialist, Great Lakes Indian Fish and Wildlife Commission
3:00 p.m.	Health Break	
3:10 p.m.	Harmful Algal Blooms and Nutrient Management Panel Discussion	Moderator: Santina Wortman, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Panelists: Greg Baneck, Outagamie County (WI) Land Conservation Department Dr. Maria Bowman, USDA-Economic Research Service Dorienne Cushman, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Dr. Merrin Macrae, University of Waterloo Eric Saas, Ohio Department of Natural Resources Dr. Robert Sterner, University of Minnesota Duluth
4:30 p.m.	Business of the Great Lakes Commission • Action Items	Sharon Jackson, Chair
4:40 p.m.	Invitation to 2021 Annual Meeting	Erika Jensen, Interim Executive Director
4:45 p.m.	Closing Remarks and Adjournment	Sharon Jackson, Chair